Macbook pro usb Ports not working | Apple Support Communities

Try an SMC Reset: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964
LCollingridge

I have been struggling with this problem for weeks!  After resetting the PRAM and SMC, etc. I finally went to Apple to get the latest MAC OS update – installed it and restarted and voila!!! My USB port is now working again!! SOLVED!!!!
bassgirl
May 23, 2012 4:04 PM
Re: macbook pro usb ports not working
in response to LCollingridge
I’ve been having the same issue. It comes and goes so it’s hard to isolate. I have the latest system software and it still hasn’t resolved the issue. It’s the ‘rear’ USB port.

Visionscaper
Aug 3, 2012 8:47 AM
Re: macbook pro usb ports not working
in response to tjk
This solved the problem for me. One of my USB ports stopped working after I upgraded to Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion (USB device was not detected when plugging it into this port). I resetted the SMC: solved!

Aug 5, 2012 7:31 AM
Re: macbook pro usb ports not working
in response to Booze S
SOLVED!

After the first two weeks, my USB Ports stopped working.

Just a while ago I’ve tried PRAM Reset, and it all worked out.

Restart >

Command + Option + P + R

holding the keys when the Apple sign doesnt appear yet on the screen,

it restarts and USB ports start working.
This helped me 2 members found this helpful (2)

via macbook pro usb ports not working | Apple Support Communities.

Leave a Reply

