Mac Boots With Num-Lock on and Can’t Get It Off? Here’s One Solution.

This morning, I noticed a perplexing problem: the function of numlock was reversed. When I turned on my macbook on the caps lock key and num lock key were already lit. When I typed my characters are in lower case font and the num pad wasn’t working. When I turned off num lock, typing on the keyboard gave me only numbers.

Doing my detective work — what happened BEFORE I noticed the problem — gives me only one possible answer. Yesterday a software install told me that I didn’t have enough privileges to install (which is ridiculous, since I was logged in as the owner/admin), so I logged out and logged in again. The problem didn’t happen until this morning, but that is the only thing that I can imagine was different. A search online tells me that I am not the only one with this problem, in fact some of the postings were 2 years old! Apple! Address this problem with a post on your site so people don’t get frustrated.

So, one solution is to zap the PRAM. I did it twice to make sure that the preferences were cleared. Here’s how:

Here are Apple’s instructions for doing this:

1. Shut down the computer.

2. Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.

3. Turn on the computer.

4. Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys. You must press this key combination before the gray screen appears.

5. Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.

6. Release the keys.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=2238

One Reply to “Mac Boots With Num-Lock on and Can’t Get It Off? Here’s One Solution.”

Leave a Reply

